38.11 Interrupts

Interrupts can be classified into multiple layers. Lower layer interrupts propagate to higher layers by multiplexing them into single interrupts. Figure 38-44 illustrates the layers of interrupts.
  • FIFO Individual Interrupts
  • FIFO Combined Interrupts
  • Main Interrupts
These interrupts are then funneled into three separate module interrupts:
  • Receive Interrupt
  • Transmit Interrupt
  • Information Interrupt

All module interrupts are persistent, meaning the condition that caused the interrupt must be cleared within the module for the interrupt request to be removed.

Figure 38-44. Interrupt Multiplexing