38.2 Modes of Operation

The CAN Protocol Module has seven modes of operation:

  • Configuration mode
  • Normal CAN 2.0 mode
  • Disable mode
  • Listen Only mode
  • Restricted Operation mode
  • Internal Loopback mode
  • External Loopback mode

The modes of operations can be grouped into four main groups: Configuration, Normal, Sleep and Debug (see Figure 38-2).